Latest update 8/2/2016 Home » SCPP » Glossary
 
 
Glossary
 
 
 
Copyright


Copyright provides protection for artistic works. Authors are guaranteed an absolute property right enforceable against everyone, the exclusive right to make use of their works and obtain a financial benefit from them. Originally granted in the form of royal privileges to printers, this right was given to authors, composers, painters and other artists over the years and was eventually codified by the Literary and Artistic Copyright Act of 11th March 1957.
 
 
Related rights


It was not until 3rd July 1985 that the “Lang Act” acknowledged the rights of sound recording and music video producers and performers. These rights are called “related” or “exclusive” rights. The act gives the producer the right to license reproduction, sale, exchange, hire and public communication of its sound recordings and music videos in return for a fee.
 
 
Copie France

 
Society that collects and distributes fees for private audiovisual copying.
 
 
FCM


The Fonds pour la Création Musicale (musical creation fund) makes grants to professionals in all musical repertoires and for all musical communication activities: CDs, live shows, teaching, broadcasting, the Internet and music publishing.
 
 
FAM


The aim of the Fonds Audiovisuel Musical (broadcast music fund) is to facilitate the presence of music in all its forms on television and to encourage investment by the music industry in the creation of broadcast music.
 
 
IFPI

 
International Federation of the Phonographic Industry. Represents the recording industry worldwide.
 
 
Sound recording


A recording of a sequence of sounds in any format (vinyl, CD, cassette or digital file). Exclusively audio recording
 
 
Producer


Person or company taking the initiative and responsibility for the first sound recording, including the financial investments.
 
 
Equitable remuneration


Compulsory payment made by the sound recording user to a producer, among others, whose sound recording has been broadcast or played in a public place. This type of fee is an exception to the producer’s licensing right, as users (radio stations, clubs, sound system operators, etc) pay equitable remuneration instead of having to request permission from producers.
 
 
SDRM


Société pour l’Administration du Droit de Reproduction Mécanique (mechanical reproduction rights administration society), administered by the Sacem.
 
 
Sorecop


Société de Perception et de Répartition pour la Rémunération de la Copie Privée Sonore (private audio copying fees collection and distribution society).
 
 
SPRE


Société Civile pour la Perception de la Rémunération Equitable (equitable remuneration collection society).
 
 
Sacem


Copyright royalties collection agency (authors, composers and music publishers).
 
 
SCPA


Société Civile des Producteurs Associés (associate producers society). Licenses users to communicate sound recordings installed on telephone hold systems to the public in return for a fee.
 
 
Music video


Recording of a sequence of images illustrating a sound recording, audiovisual work or “clip” (legally the definition refers to the original audiovisual work in any format produced by recording images incorporating a sound recording that it illustrates, commonly referred to as a “clip”).

Dernière mise à jour 23/11/2016 Accueil » LA SCPP » Glossaire
 
 

Glossaire
 
 
Droit d’auteur

Le droit d’auteur d’une création permet d’accorder une protection à l’œuvre, lui garantir un droit de propriété absolu et opposable à tous, lui assurer un droit exclusif d’exploiter son œuvre et d’en tirer un profit pécuniaire. Alloué, tout d’abord, sous la forme de privilèges royaux aux imprimeurs, ce droit va, au fil de l’histoire, être reconnu aux auteurs, aux compositeurs, aux créateurs des arts plastiques et enfin codifié par la loi spécifique du 11 mars 1957 sur la propriété littéraire et artistique.
 
 
Les droits « voisins » du droit d’auteur

Ce n’est que le 3 juillet 1985 que la Loi « Lang » reconnaît les droits des producteurs de phonogrammes et de vidéomusiques, et des artistes-interprètes. Ces droits sont appelés « droits voisins » ou « droits exclusifs ». La loi reconnaît au producteur le droit d’autoriser la reproduction, la vente, l’échange ou le louage, la communication au public de ses phonogrammes et vidéomusiques en contrepartie d’une rémunération.
 
COPIE France

Société de perception et de répartition pour la Rémunération de la Copie Privée Audiovisuelle.
 
 
FCM

Le Fonds pour la création musicale met en œuvre des aides aux professionnels de la musique dans tous les répertoires et pour toutes les activités de communication de la musique: le Disque, le Spectacle Vivant, l'Enseignement, l'Audiovisuel, Internet et l'Edition Musicale. www.lefcm.org
 
 
FAM

Le Fond Audiovisuel Musical a pour objectif de favoriser la présence de la musique sous toutes ses formes à la télévision et d'encourager les investissements de la filière musicale dans le domaine de la création musicale audiovisuelle.
 

IFPI

International Federation of Phonographic Industry. Représentant de l’industrie mondiale du disque. www.ifpi.org
Phonogramme
Fixation d’une séquence de sons, quel qu’en soit le support (disque noir, CD, cassette, fichier numérique). Enregistrement exclusivement sonore.
 
 
Phonogramme

Fixation d'une séquence de sons, quel qu'en soit le support (disque noir, CD), cassette, fichier numérique). Enregistrement exclusivement sonore. 
 
 
Producteur

Personne ou société prenant l’initiative et assumant la responsabilité de la première fixation y compris les investissements financiers, d’un phonogramme ou d’une vidéomusique.
 
 
Rémunération Equitable

Paiement obligatoire effectué par l’utilisateur du phonogramme au profit, notamment, du producteur dont le phonogramme a été radiodiffusé ou diffusé dans un lieu public. Ce type de rémunération est une exception au droit d’autoriser du producteur, puisque les diffuseurs (radios, discothèques, lieux sonorisés…) n’ont pas à solliciter d’autorisation aux producteurs, mais doivent verser une Rémunération Equitable.
 
SDRM

Société pour l'Administration du Droit de Reproduction Mécanique, gérée par la SACEM
 

SORECOP

Société de perception et de répartition pour la Rémunération de la Copie Privée Sonore.
 
 
SPRE

Société Civile pour la Perception de la Rémunération Equitable. Htpp://www.spre.fr
 
 
SACEM

Organisme de perception des droits d’auteurs (compositeurs et éditeurs de Musique). www.sacem.fr
 
 
SCPA

La Société civile des producteurs associés autorise les usagers à communiquer au public des phonogrammes installés sur leur système d'attente téléphonique contre rémunération. www.scpa.fr
 
 
Vidéomusique

Fixation d’une séquence d’images illustrant un phonogramme. Oeuvre audiovisuelle ou « clip ». (Juridique : on entend l'oeuvre audiovisuelle originale, quel qu’en soit le support, produite en fixant des images incorporant un phonogramme qu’elle illustre, telle qu'appelée dans le langage courant « vidéoclip »)